UNESCO’s ‘General History of Africa’ series

Unesco History of Africa

In case you would want to brush up on your knowledge of the history of Africa, you can download Unesco’s ebooks on the subject for free here. The eight volumes:

Volume I: Methodology and African Prehistory
Volume II: Ancient Civilizations of Africa
Volume III: Africa from the Seventh to the Eleventh Century
Volume IV: Africa from the Twelfth to the Sixteenth Century
Volume V: Africa from the Sixteenth to the Eighteenth Century
Volume VI: Africa in the Nineteenth Century until the 1880s
Volume VII: Africa under the Colonial Domination 1880-1935
Volume VIII: Africa since 1935

For more information about this project (which started in 1964) click here.